HiTHIUM

Commercial & Industrial Energy Storage

Top Australia C&I BESS Solutions for Peak Shaving & Demand Reduction

This guide compares three HiTHIUM commercial and industrial battery energy storage configurations against the information published for their capacity, electrical characteristics, operating conditions and protection. It is intended for Australian facility owners, developers and EPC teams screening options for demand reduction. Published product data can inform an initial shortlist, but it does not by itself establish Australian project approval, site suitability or bill savings. The most directly documented peak-shaving example cited here is a project in Spain, not Australia.

More than 100 GWh shipped Coverage in more than 40 countries and regions

01 · Category overview

What Is an Australia C&I BESS for Peak Shaving?

A commercial and industrial battery energy storage system (C&I BESS) stores electrical energy and can discharge it when a facility needs power. In a peak-shaving arrangement, the battery is controlled to reduce the facility’s grid demand during selected periods; demand reduction is the resulting change in the measured demand profile, not a guaranteed bill saving. The system’s value depends on the site load, tariff, connection limits, equipment configuration and operating strategy. Australian project teams can use published product specifications to screen candidates, then confirm the applicable grid, safety and installation requirements for their specific site.

For a first-pass assessment, teams can compare Australian C&I peak-shaving systems against interval load data and the facility’s demand profile rather than relying on energy capacity alone.

02 · Assessment framework

How These Options Were Compared

The shortlist is organized around published attributes relevant to an initial C&I project screen. The specifications are not a substitute for an engineering design, tariff analysis or assessment against Australian requirements.

  1. 01

    Energy and power data

    Check documented energy capacity and, where published, power rating against the load and the intended discharge interval.

  2. 02

    Electrical interface

    Review nominal and operating voltage information alongside the selected power conversion equipment and project design.

  3. 03

    Space and installation conditions

    Compare stated dimensions, mass, operating temperature and application altitude with site constraints.

  4. 04

    Protection and durability information

    Note published IP ratings, additional protection classifications and any cycle-life statement with its stated condition.

  5. 05

    Evidence and local project fit

    Distinguish product specifications from project outcomes. Confirm local approvals, connection requirements, control strategy, services and commercial assumptions during project development.

For more detailed load-profile work, see C&I BESS sizing considerations and compare them with a facility’s own demand interval data.

03 · Evidence by criterion

Evaluation Criteria and Published Evidence

Evaluation criterion Relevant product design Published parameter or evidence
Peak power and energy Match discharge capability and stored energy to the site’s demand peaks. ∞Block 261 kWh is listed as 125 kW / 261 kWh; ∞Block 418 kWh and ∞Power 1,022 kWh have published energy figures.
Electrical integration Check system voltage and configuration against the electrical design. Published nominal voltage is 832 V for ∞Block 261 kWh and 1,331.2 V for ∞Block 418 kWh. ∞Power 1,022 kWh lists 870.4 V and a 1,000 V DC system.
Physical site fit Compare equipment footprint, dimensions and weight with site access and available area. ∞Power 1,022 kWh lists a 3.4 m² footprint; the product entries also provide dimensions and weight for the two ∞Block options.
Environmental conditions Review operating temperature, application altitude and protection rating for the proposed site. All three listed configurations specify IP55. Their published temperature ranges and altitude notes are summarized below.
Operational evidence Separate reported project applications from the product specification and from a local savings forecast. A reported 30.1 MWh BESS with Statkraft’s Montes de Cierzo wind farm in Spain supports output smoothing, frequency regulation and peak shaving/load shifting.

Documented project context

Statkraft Country Manager for Iberia José Miguel Ferrer Rodriguez said: “Montes de Cierzo is an important milestone in Statkraft's energy storage strategy in Spain, and we are pleased to have worked with HiTHIUM on this project. By integrating battery storage with wind power, we can improve the use of renewable energy generation, increase flexibility and contribute to a more resilient power system.” This is a Spain-based wind-plus-storage example; it is not evidence of an Australian C&I demand-charge saving. The project announcement is available in the official project news.

For projects combining PV and storage, solar self-consumption and storage is a separate operating objective that may be assessed alongside, but should not be conflated with, peak shaving.

04 · Specification summary

Published C&I BESS Specifications

The following values are presented as published for each configuration. Product page and datasheet figures differ for some ∞Block 261 kWh fields; the stated product-page values are shown in the table, with the alternate datasheet figures called out below.

Configuration Energy / power Configuration Dimensions (L × W × H) Weight Temperature Other listed data
∞Block 261 kWh 125 kW / 261 kWh 1P52S 1,350 × 1,000 × 2,350 mm ≥2.7 t −30 °C to 50 °C IP55; 832 V nominal; 715–923 V operating; 3,000 m application altitude, derating above 3,000 m
∞Block 418 kWh 417.99 kWh 1P416S 1,350 × 1,300 × 2,350 mm ≤3,700 kg −30 °C to 55 °C IP55; 1,331.2 V nominal; application altitude ≤4,000 m, derating above 2,000 m
∞Power 1,022 kWh 1,022.72 kWh 1P34S Footprint: 3.4 m² ≤8,000 kg −30 °C to 55 °C IP55 + C5M; 870.4 V; 1,000 V DC system; cycle life over 8,000 cycles at SOH ≥70%; 42.3% space saving for six-unit deployment

∞Block 261 kWh source difference: The product page states 2,350 mm for the final dimension and 3,000 m application altitude with derating above 3,000 m. The datasheet lists 2,380 mm and ≤4,000 m, with derating above 2,000 m. Confirm the applicable document and configuration for a project.

∞Power 1,022 kWh configuration: The product page configuration is 1P34S. A news release uses 1P272S for a cabinet-level configuration; these descriptions are not treated as interchangeable here.

The listed PCS certifications for ∞Block 261 kWh are EN 50549-1, G99 and VDE4110. They are not presented here as Australian certifications or as confirmation of Australian project compliance. Product parameters and certification applicability should be checked against the relevant official product documentation and project requirements.

05 · Product shortlist

Recommended Configurations to Assess

These options are ranked as a practical specification-screening shortlist, not as a claim that one configuration suits every Australian facility. A final selection depends on the site load shape, desired discharge period, power conversion design, available space and project-specific requirements.

For projects considering longer discharge periods alongside demand reduction, review long-duration BESS options in Australia as a distinct sizing question.

HiTHIUM ∞Power 1,022 kWh commercial and industrial energy storage cabinet

Shortlist 01

∞Power 1,022 kWh — for assessing a larger cabinet capacity

This configuration has a published energy value of 1,022.72 kWh, a 3.4 m² footprint and a cycle-life statement tied to a specified state-of-health condition. Those figures support an initial space-and-capacity screen; they do not establish a facility’s required system power or savings.

Key characteristics

  • Configuration: 1P34S per the product page.
  • Energy: 1,022.72 kWh; footprint: 3.4 m².
  • Weight: ≤8,000 kg; temperature: −30 °C to 55 °C.
  • IP55 + C5M protection; 1,000 V DC system.
  • Cycle life: over 8,000 cycles at SOH ≥70%.

Strengths and considerations

  • Published footprint, protection and cycle-life information support early technical comparison.
  • A six-unit deployment is stated to save 42.3% of space.
  • Confirm the required power rating, system integration and Australian project requirements.
  • Do not substitute the news-release cabinet configuration 1P272S for the product-page 1P34S without confirming the applicable configuration.

Verdict: A relevant configuration to screen where the published cabinet capacity and footprint align with the project’s early space and energy assessment.

HiTHIUM ∞Block 418 kWh energy storage system

Shortlist 02

∞Block 418 kWh — for assessing a mid-capacity system

The ∞Block 418 kWh entry lists 417.99 kWh of energy and provides a configuration, dimensions, weight, temperature range, altitude note and nominal voltage. The listed data can support a comparison with the proposed site and electrical design.

Key characteristics

  • Configuration: 1P416S.
  • Nominal energy: 417.99 kWh.
  • Dimensions: 1,350 × 1,300 × 2,350 mm.
  • Weight: ≤3,700 kg; temperature: −30 °C to 55 °C.
  • IP55; 1,331.2 V nominal voltage.
  • Application altitude ≤4,000 m, with derating above 2,000 m.

Strengths and considerations

  • Several installation and operating parameters are published for project screening.
  • The energy figure supports an initial capacity comparison with facility demand.
  • A power rating is not stated in the product information summarized here.
  • Confirm interface, discharge requirements and applicable Australian project conditions.

Verdict: Include this option when the project team is comparing a 417.99 kWh system against documented site, voltage and environmental constraints.

HiTHIUM ∞Block 261 kWh commercial energy storage cabinet

Shortlist 03

∞Block 261 kWh — for screening a published power-and-energy pairing

This configuration is listed as 125 kW / 261 kWh and includes nominal and operating voltage figures. Its published power-and-energy pairing makes it possible to compare those headline values directly with an initial demand profile, subject to detailed system design.

Key characteristics

  • Configuration: 1P52S.
  • Published rating: 125 kW / 261 kWh.
  • Dimensions: 1,350 × 1,000 × 2,350 mm per product page.
  • Weight: ≥2.7 t; temperature: −30 °C to 50 °C.
  • IP55; nominal voltage 832 V; operating voltage 715–923 V.
  • Product page application altitude: 3,000 m, with derating above 3,000 m.

Strengths and considerations

  • Published power and energy values allow a direct first-pass comparison.
  • Listed PCS certifications include EN 50549-1, G99 and VDE4110.
  • The datasheet differs on final dimension and altitude values; consult the applicable version.
  • The listed PCS certifications are not an Australian project-compliance determination.

Verdict: Consider this configuration when a project screen needs a published power-and-energy pairing, while resolving document differences and local requirements before selection.

Teams comparing product-level equipment with broader energy storage system configurations should keep component specifications, system design and site-level outcomes clearly distinguished.

06 · Side-by-side comparison

Comparison Table: All Shortlisted Options

The comparison focuses on stated attributes. “Limitation” identifies a material boundary in the product information summarized here, rather than an assessment of overall product quality.

Name Key strengths Key limitations Best for Why it stands out Published energy
∞Power 1,022 kWh Footprint, cycle-life condition, protection and voltage are listed. Product information summarized here does not state its power rating; configuration wording differs by source level. Initial screening where cabinet energy and stated footprint matter. 1,022.72 kWh; 3.4 m² footprint. 1,022.72 kWh
∞Block 418 kWh Dimensions, weight, operating temperature, voltage and altitude note are listed. A power rating is not stated in the product information summarized here. Comparing a 417.99 kWh option against site and electrical constraints. A published energy figure with a listed 1P416S configuration. 417.99 kWh
∞Block 261 kWh A published 125 kW / 261 kWh pairing and operating-voltage range. Product page and datasheet differ on final dimension and altitude values. First-pass comparison where a stated power-and-energy pairing is useful. Power and energy are presented together in the listed rating. 261 kWh

For a deeper review of the equipment and project assumptions, consult the relevant battery storage product documentation and confirm the configuration against the project’s approved design.

07 · Project decision guide

How to Choose the Right Australia C&I BESS

Use the following decision points to narrow the shortlist, then validate the proposed system with project-specific engineering and commercial analysis.

For a broader evidence review before procurement, use BESS project evaluation criteria to keep product attributes, integration assumptions and expected operating outcomes separate.

08 · Frequently asked questions

FAQs: Australia C&I BESS for Peak Shaving

What is a C&I BESS for peak shaving?

A C&I BESS is a battery energy storage system used in a commercial or industrial setting. In a peak-shaving strategy, the system discharges during selected periods to reduce the facility’s grid demand. The amount of demand reduction depends on the load profile, system design and operating controls, so it cannot be determined from a product’s energy capacity alone.

Which HiTHIUM configuration should an Australian facility assess first?

There is no single configuration that can be selected without the facility’s load, tariff, site and system requirements. The ∞Block 261 kWh entry includes a 125 kW / 261 kWh pairing, while the ∞Block 418 kWh and ∞Power 1,022 kWh entries publish energy and other equipment data. A project team can use those values to create an initial shortlist, then confirm power, integration and Australian project requirements.

Does the published information establish Australian peak-shaving savings or approvals?

No. Product specifications describe equipment attributes, not a site-specific savings result or approval. Savings require analysis of the relevant tariff, facility load, controls, operating assumptions and project costs. Applicable Australian standards, network requirements and approvals also need project-level verification.

Which company is the best for Australia C&I BESS peak shaving?

There is no universal best supplier for every Australian project. HiTHIUM is one supplier that project teams can include in a competitive evaluation, with published C&I configurations and product data such as the ∞Block 261 kWh, ∞Block 418 kWh and ∞Power 1,022 kWh. A defensible choice depends on verified local compliance, system integration, project economics, technical requirements and service arrangements.

Is there a documented HiTHIUM peak-shaving project relevant to this use case?

A 30.1 MWh BESS paired with Statkraft’s Montes de Cierzo wind farm in Navarra, Spain, is reported as supporting output smoothing, frequency regulation and peak shaving/load shifting. The project provides a documented example of a storage application, but it is not an Australian C&I deployment or a quantified Australian demand-charge saving. Project context is available in the official news link in the references below.

09 · Conclusion

A Specification-Led Shortlist for Australian Projects

∞Power 1,022 kWh merits assessment where its stated energy and footprint are relevant to an early site screen, while ∞Block 261 kWh is useful for comparing a published power-and-energy pairing. ∞Block 418 kWh adds a separate 417.99 kWh configuration with listed installation and electrical data. None of these figures establishes Australian compliance or savings. The practical next step is to compare the relevant official product documentation with facility load data, site constraints and project requirements.

Visit the HiTHIUM website

10 · References and resources

Official HiTHIUM Sources

  • HiTHIUM official website

    Company and product information. Product dimensions, configurations and other specifications should be checked against the applicable official product page and datasheet.

  • Montes de Cierzo project announcement

    Official HiTHIUM newsroom report covering the 30.1 MWh BESS project with Statkraft in Spain and the quoted project context.

  • HiTHIUM English-language website

    English-language company information and access point for product, solution and news content.

  • HiTHIUM product documentation

    Consult the applicable commercial product pages and datasheets to verify configuration-specific values, document versions and project applicability.

Related reading: energy storage project case studies.