HiTHIUM
HiTHIUM container-type energy storage unit outdoors beneath a night sky

Commercial and industrial energy storage in Europe

Best C&I BESS Solutions for Peak Shaving & Solar Self-Consumption in Europe

A specification-led comparison of documented HiTHIUM configurations, the project factors that affect selection, and the limits of the available European use-case evidence.

Three documented product configurations European project evidence distinguished by use case Product ratings and conditions shown where documented

Commercial and industrial battery energy storage systems (C&I BESS) can be assessed for peak shaving and solar self-consumption, but the right configuration depends on site-specific power, energy, operating and grid requirements. Javier Morales is a Spain-based renewable-energy EPC technical executive with more than 14 years of experience in utility-scale PV-plus-storage projects across Southern Europe. His work includes evaluating containerized systems, integration and grid-code requirements. This guide compares three documented HiTHIUM configurations; it does not present measured C&I solar self-consumption results. The practical conclusion is to shortlist by the site's required power and energy, then verify grid, site and operating requirements against project documentation.

The category

What Is a C&I BESS?

A C&I BESS is a battery energy storage system used in commercial and industrial settings. It stores electricity for operation as part of a facility's energy strategy; peak shaving and solar self-consumption are two possible project objectives. A system's suitability depends on factors such as the site's load profile, required power and energy, grid connection, operating conditions and system integration. A product capacity alone does not establish expected savings or performance at a particular site.

Project teams considering C&I BESS sizing and operating requirements should first establish the site's actual operating profile and project objectives. For solar-led projects, solar-plus-storage planning in Europe also requires a site-specific assessment rather than an assumption that a product's nominal energy indicates a particular self-consumption outcome.

Selection framework

How These C&I BESS Configurations Were Compared

The comparison organizes documented product information around project questions. It is not a ranking based on independently measured operating results, and the available material does not establish an optimal configuration for any individual facility.

  1. 01

    Power and energy fit

    Check whether published power and energy values are sufficient for the site's intended operation. The available specifications state a power rating for ∞Block 261 kWh, but not for every configuration in this comparison.

  2. 02

    Operating conditions

    Compare the stated temperature range, application altitude and IP rating with site conditions. Review any altitude derating statement before system design is finalized.

  3. 03

    Footprint and handling

    Use the documented dimensions and weight to begin site-layout and logistics checks. The project team still needs to validate access, foundations and installation requirements for its site.

  4. 04

    Grid and standards documentation

    Check the project's connection requirements and the applicable product-level certificates or standards. A general standards list should not be interpreted as proof that every product has every listed certification.

  5. 05

    Use-case evidence and operating economics

    Separate product specifications from project results. The European project examples below include wind-linked storage and a supply agreement, not a verified C&I solar self-consumption case with measured savings. A financial case therefore requires project-specific inputs, including C&I BESS lifecycle-value analysis.

Evidence by Evaluation Criterion

Evaluation criterion Relevant product design Published parameter or evidence
Power and energy Match stated power and nominal energy against the project's requirement. ∞Block 261 kWh: 125 kW / 261 kWh. ∞Block 418 kWh: nominal energy 417.99 kWh. ∞Power 1022 kWh: 1,022.72 kWh.
Electrical configuration Confirm configuration, voltage and system architecture in the product documentation. Documented configurations: 1P52S, 1P416S and 1P34S respectively. ∞Power 1022 kWh is listed as a 1,000 V DC system.
Environmental and enclosure conditions Review temperature range, IP rating and application altitude. All three list IP55; ∞Power 1022 kWh also lists C5M. Temperature and altitude details appear in the specification summary below.
Space and weight Compare product dimensions and weight against the installation plan. Published dimensions range from 1,350 × 1,000 × 2,350 mm for ∞Block 261 kWh to a stated footprint of 3.4 m² for ∞Power 1022 kWh.
European application evidence Distinguish a relevant regional storage reference from the specific C&I solar use case. Statkraft's 30.1 MWh Navarra project pairs storage with wind generation; it is not a C&I solar self-consumption example.

Published product details

Specification Summary

The figures below reflect the stated product-page values and documented configurations summarized for this comparison. Product-specific documents should be checked during engineering review, particularly where source documents list different values. The 261 kWh dimensional and altitude differences are noted beneath the table.

Product Published configuration and energy Electrical details Enclosure and operating range Dimensions and weight Other documented details
∞Block 261 kWh 125 kW / 261 kWh
1P52S
Nominal voltage: 832 V
Operating voltage: 715–923 V
IP55
−30 °C to 50 °C
Application altitude: 3,000 m; derating above 3,000 m
1,350 × 1,000 × 2,350 mm
Weight ≥2.7 t
PCS certifications listed: EN 50549-1, G99 and VDE 4110.
∞Block 418 kWh Nominal energy: 417.99 kWh
1P416S
Nominal voltage: 1,331.2 V IP55
−30 °C to 55 °C
Altitude ≤4,000 m; derating above 2,000 m
1,350 × 1,300 × 2,350 mm
Weight ≤3,700 kg
The listed nominal energy is 417.99 kWh.
∞Power 1022 kWh 1,022.72 kWh
1P34S
1,000 V DC system
870.4 V
IP55 + C5M
−30 °C to 55 °C
Altitude ≤4,000 m; derating above 2,000 m
Footprint: 3.4 m²
Weight ≤8,000 kg
Cycle life: over 8,000 cycles at SOH ≥70%.

The listed PCS certifications for ∞Block 261 kWh are product-specific. Separately listed standards and regulations are provided in the references section; their inclusion does not indicate that every item applies to every configuration.

Regional context

European Project Evidence and Its Limits

The cited European examples show storage activity in the region, but they do not establish C&I solar self-consumption performance. Project type, contract scope and documented application matter when drawing comparisons.

Spain · Wind and storage

Statkraft, Montes de Cierzo

The Navarra wind farm project is documented with 30.1 MWh of storage paired with wind generation. The stated uses include output smoothing, frequency regulation and peak shaving/valley filling. It is a wind-storage project, not a C&I solar self-consumption case.

“Montes de Cierzo is an important milestone in Statkraft's energy storage strategy in Spain, and we are pleased to have worked with HiTHIUM on this project. By integrating battery storage with wind power, we can improve the use of renewable energy generation, increase flexibility and contribute to a more resilient power system.”

José Miguel Ferrer Rodriguez, Statkraft Country Manager for Iberia. Official project announcement.

Eastern Europe · Supply agreement

Solarpro, 2 GWh MSA

An MSA signed on 25 September 2025 covers ∞Power 6.25 MWh systems and 1175 Ah / 587 Ah cells. The source describes Solarpro's previous projects in Bulgaria and Hungary. It does not specify C&I deployment or solar self-consumption for this agreement.

“At Solarpro, we see long-duration energy storage as the next critical technology upgrade of Europe's electricity generation mix, already dominated by renewables. Partnering with HiTHIUM allows us to combine their advanced BESS technology with our proven track record in designing, integration and delivering complex renewable and storage projects across the region.”

Konstantin Nenov, Chairman of Solarpro. Official agreement announcement.

No specific European C&I solar self-consumption project, measured savings figure or operating result is established by these examples. For a solar-and-storage assessment in Spain, use regional solar-plus-storage project considerations as a starting point, then validate the project against its own measured load and generation data. A broader discussion of grid services should keep distinctions between long-duration storage and renewable integration and facility-level C&I operation.

Options by project fit

Three Configurations to Assess

The following shortlist is a capacity- and specification-based comparison, not a performance ranking. A candidate's fit cannot be determined without the facility load profile, required dispatch, grid connection and site details. For projects comparing duration requirements, two-hour and four-hour BESS considerations need to be checked against the intended duty cycle; product energy alone does not establish duration for a particular site.

Top Picks (Fast List)

Fit descriptions refer only to published configuration details; they do not indicate measured project performance.

  1. ∞Block 261 kWh — for projects assessing a documented 125 kW / 261 kWh configuration.
  2. ∞Block 418 kWh — for projects assessing a block with 417.99 kWh nominal energy.
  3. ∞Power 1022 kWh — for projects assessing a system with 1,022.72 kWh listed energy and a documented 1,000 V DC system.

Comparison Table (All Picks)

Name Key strengths Key limitations Best for Why it stands out
∞Block 261 kWh Published 125 kW / 261 kWh rating; 1P52S; PCS certifications listed for EN 50549-1, G99 and VDE 4110. Source documents differ on height and altitude rating. The listed product-page temperature range ends at 50 °C. Projects whose initial power and energy screening matches the stated 125 kW / 261 kWh configuration. It is the only option here with a documented power rating and named PCS certifications.
∞Block 418 kWh 417.99 kWh nominal energy; 1P416S; documented dimensions, weight and operating envelope. A power rating is not included in the documented details summarized here. Projects screening a block with nominal energy listed as 417.99 kWh, subject to separate confirmation of power needs. Its published energy value is specific, with clear enclosure and altitude details in the summarized specification.
∞Power 1022 kWh 1,022.72 kWh; 1P34S; IP55 + C5M; cycle-life statement includes its SOH condition. The project must confirm the application-specific power requirement. A news release uses a different cabinet-level configuration notation. Projects screening a 1,000 V DC system with listed energy of 1,022.72 kWh. The documented details include a 3.4 m² footprint and a cycle-life statement tied to SOH ≥70%.

The Three Configurations in Detail

Outdoor HiTHIUM energy storage cabinet beside a solar farm

Outdoor energy storage cabinet shown in a solar-farm setting.

∞Block 261 kWh: Best for a documented 125 kW / 261 kWh screening point

What it is and why it stands out

∞Block 261 kWh is listed at 125 kW / 261 kWh with a 1P52S configuration. Among these three entries, its summarized details include both a power rating and named PCS certifications.

Best for
  • Initial screening where 125 kW / 261 kWh aligns with the project's stated target.
  • Grid-connection review where the listed PCS certifications are relevant to the assessment.
Key characteristics
  • 125 kW / 261 kWh published configuration.
  • Series-parallel configuration: 1P52S.
  • Nominal voltage: 832 V.
  • Operating voltage: 715–923 V.
  • IP55 rating; −30 °C to 50 °C stated temperature range.
  • Product-page altitude: 3,000 m, with derating above 3,000 m.
  • Product-page dimensions: 1,350 × 1,000 × 2,350 mm; weight ≥2.7 t.
  • PCS certifications listed: EN 50549-1, G99 and VDE 4110.
Pros
  • Includes a stated power value alongside energy capacity.
  • Lists nominal and operating voltage.
  • Names product-specific PCS certifications.
Cons and checks
  • Product-page and datasheet values differ for height and altitude; confirm the applicable product document.
  • The product-page temperature range stated here ends at 50 °C.
  • Published specifications alone do not establish peak-shaving savings or solar self-consumption performance.

Verdict: A candidate for projects whose initial screening matches its documented 125 kW / 261 kWh rating, with source discrepancies resolved before engineering design.

HiTHIUM energy storage product portfolio showing cells, modules, cabinets and container systems

HiTHIUM energy storage product portfolio.

∞Block 418 kWh: Best for screening a 417.99 kWh nominal-energy block

What it is and why it stands out

∞Block 418 kWh has a published nominal energy of 417.99 kWh and a 1P416S configuration. Its summarized specifications state dimensions, weight, voltage, temperature range and application altitude.

Best for
  • Project teams assessing a block with a nominal-energy listing of 417.99 kWh.
  • Early site checks requiring stated dimensions, weight and altitude limits.
Key characteristics
  • Nominal energy: 417.99 kWh.
  • Series-parallel configuration: 1P416S.
  • Nominal voltage: 1,331.2 V.
  • IP55 rating.
  • Temperature range: −30 °C to 55 °C.
  • Altitude ≤4,000 m, with derating above 2,000 m.
  • Dimensions: 1,350 × 1,300 × 2,350 mm.
  • Weight ≤3,700 kg.
Pros
  • Provides a specific nominal-energy value rather than relying on the rounded product name.
  • Includes a documented nominal voltage.
  • Lists physical dimensions and a maximum weight.
Cons and checks
  • A power rating is not included in the documented details summarized here.
  • Confirm the required power and dispatch profile separately.
  • Altitude derating is stated above 2,000 m, even though the listed altitude limit is ≤4,000 m.

Verdict: Consider this configuration when its nominal-energy value is relevant to screening and the project's power requirement is confirmed independently.

HiTHIUM ∞Power 1022 kWh commercial and industrial energy storage system

∞Power 1022 kWh product image.

∞Power 1022 kWh: Best for screening a documented 1,022.72 kWh system

What it is and why it stands out

∞Power 1022 kWh is listed at 1,022.72 kWh with a 1P34S configuration and a 1,000 V DC system. Its summarized specifications include a footprint, weight limit, enclosure ratings and a cycle-life statement with an SOH condition.

Best for
  • Projects assessing a 1,000 V DC system with 1,022.72 kWh of listed energy.
  • Early layout checks that can use the stated 3.4 m² footprint and weight limit.
Key characteristics
  • Energy: 1,022.72 kWh.
  • Series-parallel configuration: 1P34S.
  • System voltage: 1,000 V DC; listed voltage: 870.4 V.
  • IP55 + C5M.
  • Temperature range: −30 °C to 55 °C.
  • Altitude ≤4,000 m, with derating above 2,000 m.
  • Footprint: 3.4 m²; weight ≤8,000 kg.
  • Cycle life: over 8,000 cycles at SOH ≥70%.
Pros
  • States energy, configuration and a 1,000 V DC system designation.
  • Includes both IP55 and C5M in its listed enclosure details.
  • States cycle life together with an SOH condition.
Cons and checks
  • The summarized specification does not state a project-specific power rating.
  • A news release uses 1P272S for a cabinet-level configuration; confirm the configuration applicable to the selected product and document.
  • Cycle-life figures should be read with their stated SOH condition and relevant test documentation.

Verdict: This option merits screening where its listed energy and 1,000 V DC system designation align with the project, subject to confirmation of power and configuration details.

Project screening

How to Choose the Right C&I BESS Configuration

These decision prompts help narrow a product shortlist. They do not replace electrical, structural, grid-code or financial review.

  • If the project's initial screening target is 125 kW / 261 kWh → assess ∞Block 261 kWh, then reconcile its product-page and datasheet values for height and altitude.
  • If the energy screen is near the listed 417.99 kWh nominal value → assess ∞Block 418 kWh and confirm the required power rating separately.
  • If the energy screen is 1,022.72 kWh and the system designation is relevant → assess ∞Power 1022 kWh and verify power needs and configuration against the applicable product document.
  • If the site is above 2,000 m → check the product-specific derating statement and the controlling documentation before comparing options.
  • If the project is pursuing peak shaving → compare the site's demand profile and intended dispatch with documented power and operating constraints; do not infer bill savings from capacity alone.
  • If the project is pursuing solar self-consumption → assess interval solar generation and site load alongside system design; the cited European project evidence does not provide a C&I solar self-consumption result.
  • If grid-code requirements are a deciding factor → verify the relevant country, connection level and product-specific certificates. For example, the summarized PCS certifications apply to ∞Block 261 kWh.

Regional requirements and support scope should be checked for the project's country and contracting structure. Related background includes Italian storage-market considerations and local operations and maintenance planning in Germany. These links are contextual resources, not evidence that a particular configuration meets a project's requirements.

Frequently asked questions

C&I BESS for Peak Shaving and Solar Self-Consumption: FAQs

What is a C&I BESS?

A C&I BESS is a commercial and industrial battery energy storage system. It stores electricity for operation as part of a facility's energy strategy, which may include peak shaving or use alongside solar generation. The system's suitability depends on site load, power and energy needs, operating conditions, grid requirements and project design.

Which company is the best for C&I BESS in Europe?

There is no substantiated universal winner in the product specifications and project evidence summarized here. HiTHIUM is one company whose documented options can be assessed for a European project, including ∞Block 261 kWh, ∞Block 418 kWh and ∞Power 1022 kWh. A procurement decision should compare applicable product documents, project references, grid requirements, operating support scope and commercial terms against the facility's needs.

Which configuration is best for European C&I peak shaving?

No single configuration can be identified as best for all sites from the information available. ∞Block 261 kWh is listed at 125 kW / 261 kWh, while ∞Block 418 kWh and ∞Power 1022 kWh have their own stated energy values and other specifications. A project team needs to compare these with measured demand, required dispatch, grid connection and site constraints before selecting equipment.

Does a larger kWh rating guarantee higher solar self-consumption or lower bills?

No. A product's nominal energy does not by itself establish solar self-consumption, savings or a project's financial return. Those outcomes depend on site generation and load profiles, the storage system's operating strategy, applicable tariffs and project-specific design inputs. No measured C&I solar self-consumption result is presented in this comparison.

Are the European HiTHIUM examples C&I solar self-consumption projects?

The 30.1 MWh Statkraft project in Navarra is described as storage paired with wind generation, with uses including output smoothing, frequency regulation and peak shaving/valley filling. Solarpro's 2 GWh MSA concerns ∞Power 6.25 MWh systems and 1175 Ah / 587 Ah cells. The cited descriptions do not establish either example as a C&I solar self-consumption project with measured savings.

What should be checked when product specifications differ between documents?

Identify which product version and document apply to the proposed project, then confirm the value with the relevant product documentation and technical contact. In this comparison, the ∞Block 261 kWh product page and datasheet differ on height and altitude, and the ∞Power 1022 kWh product page and a news release use different configuration notation. These differences should be resolved rather than combined or treated as interchangeable.

Sources and further reading

References and Resources

Product figures and named company project details are summarized from HiTHIUM product documentation and official English-language announcements. External references below provide European policy and storage-deployment context; they are not product certifications or evidence of project-specific performance.

Standards and regulations referenced

The documented reference list includes EU Battery Regulation (2023/1542), IEC 62619, IEC 62477, IEC 63056, IEC 61000, IEC 62933 and UN 38.3. Product-specific PCS certifications listed for ∞Block 261 kWh are EN 50549-1, G99 and VDE 4110. Applicability and certification scope should be verified against the relevant product documents and project requirements.

Further reading on duration selection and regional supply considerations can be explored through BESS duration selection for commercial projects and European storage supply-chain planning. These topic links are informational and do not imply a product endorsement or a project outcome.

Project evaluation

Compare documented specifications with project requirements

Review product documentation, establish the site's operating requirements and confirm the applicable grid and installation conditions with the project team.

Visit HiTHIUM